Time: One full day 8am-6pm
Distance: +/- 13km
Start: Jiaotong University metro station (Subway Line 11) at the west end of former French Concession,
End: South Huangpi Road metro station (Subway Line 1) in the east part of former French Concession.
Start your tour at the Jiaotong University metro station (Subway Line 11). Leave through Exit 7 and head east on Middle Huaihai Road (built in 1901，named in 1915 as Avenue Joffre to honor the French General Joseph Joffre, who visited Shanghai and attended an official renaming ceremony in 1922.) - the main boulevard stretching across the French Concession in an east-west direction and also the most famous elegant French style shopping and residential road in China.
A majestic brown purple high building cant wait to boast the charming colonial atmosphere in the French Concession even before you step on Middle Huaihai Road. At the corner of Huaihai Road stands Houston Court which is built in 1930. It is a reinforced concrete structure modern style building. It was the highest building in the west part of Shanghai until the beginning of 1980s.
To the east of Houston Court is the townhouse like Huaihai Villa built in 1937.
No.1893 Middle Huaihai Road - A Villa designed by Mr. Laszlo Hudec, the most famous architect in the colonial period in Shanghai. It was built in 1933 and is an Outstanding Historical Building promulgated by Shanghai Municipal Government.
Around 200 m to the east of the departure point of this tour, there is the famous Wukang Road (old name Route Ferguson after Mr. John Calvin Ferguson, an American Missionary and 1st official president of Nanyang College (the current Jiaotong University).). This 1.17km long street was built by Mr. Johan Ferguson to improve the traffic condition of Nanyang College. In 1914, the French Concession expanded to here. Now it is one of the most famous elegant plane trees-lined streets in the former French Concession clustered with many upmarket charming western style villas and apartments, discreet but famous cafes and restaurants, trendy tucked-away boutiques. This narrow road is much popular in autumn when the golden leaves cover the ground. There are 14 outstanding historical buildings, 37 preserved historic buildings on this road. On 11 June 2011, Wukang Road was promulgated as the 3rd batch of China Famous Historical and Cultural Road by the Ministry of Culture and the State Administration of Cultural Heritage.
Mr. John Calvin Ferguson
Wukang Road Area is also widely considered with the best autumn street scenery in Shanghai for its falling leaves. The environmental sanitation workers here also do not totally clean them very soon. So tourists can enjoy the enchanting autumn view in this area when full comes.
The Map of the Wukang Road Area
Before turning left into the charming Wukang Road, you can find the imposing I.S.S. Normandie Apartments was built in 1924. This building of French Renaissance style is over 30m high and it was the first apartment of gallery corridor type in Shanghai. It was the 5th work in Shanghai of Mr. Laszlo Hudec, the most famous architect in the colonial period in Shanghai. From 3rd floor up, there are totally 63 suites in this building. The 1st and 2nd floor are for shops.
An Cafe at the Wukang Road side on the 1st floor of I.S.S. Normandie Apartments.
Walking on the street is a feast for the senses. Lets walk and enjoy in the cozy romantic atmosphere in this small street.
392 Wukang Road, Former Residence of Ma Bufang - once the top general in the northwest China during the Republic of China, is a Baroque-style 4-storeyed residence building, built in 1912. Immovable Cultural Relic of Xuhui District and also the outstanding historical building promulgated by Shanghai municipal government.
390 Wukang Road, originally the Residence of former Italian Consulate General. Designed by architect of Credit Foncier Co.. Built in 1932. Mediterranean style residence. Now there are only 2 Mediterranean style buildings built in colonial period in Shanghai.
395 Wukang Road, Former site of the National Academy of Peiping, an immovable cultural relic in Xuhui District. Built in 1926, this house is partly in Baroque-style. And the design of it is also influenced by the Palladian Villas style in late Italian Renaissance. Palladian architecture is a European style of architecture derived from and inspired by the designs of the Venetian architect Andrea Palladio (1508–1580). Palladios work was strongly based on the symmetry, perspective and values of the formal classical temple architecture of the Ancient Greeks and Romans.
The 1st floor is the basement and the living room is on the 2nd floor. The area for this villa is limited and very close to the road. In order to solve this problem, the architect specially arranged 2 entries symmetrically on each side of the front facade with Tuscan Order pillars, it is quite different from normal house with only one main entry.
It served as the office for various institutions including Shanghai Film Actors Troupe, the Institute of Radium and the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Peiping, and the World Publisher founded by Li Shizeng, playing an important role in culture, education and science in modern China.
393 Wukang Road. The early building was completed in 1912, having neoclassicism architectural style. Its extension which was completed in 1933 has Art Deco style. It served as the Residence of Huang Xing (1874-1916) who was the democratic revolutionist in modern ages from 1912-1916.
The northern part of this building was converted to Shanghai Old House Art Center and Wukang Road Tourist Information Center. Tourists can rest and get tour information in this elegant cozy house.
374-378 Wukang Road, Ferguson Lane. There are many trendy bars and restaurants here.
376 Wukang Road, Former Residence of the Minister of Foreign Affairs during the Republic of China - Mr. Guo Taiqi (1890-1952) is built in 1920s. It is in UK Classicism style and now is also part of Ferguson Lane.
240 Wukang Road, Kempton Apartment, Immovable Cultural Relic of Xuhui District. It was built in 1940 as a Western modern apartment like a sailing ship. It was designed and used by Palmer & Turner Architects and Surveyors. It became the site of Fuxing Bank of the Wang puppet regime after the outbreak of the Pacific War and was nationalized after China won the Anti-Japanese War.
232 Wukang Road, Kauflman Apartment, is a 5-storeyed modern style building completed in 1936. The name of this building is after an expatriate Frenchman Mr. Kauflman who once worked in a post office in Yunnan Province in China and died in the 1st World War. This building is also an outstanding historical building promulgated by Shanghai Municipal Government.
115 Wukang Road, Midget Apartment. Built in 1931, this apartment house of Art Deco style was designed by French Leonard Alexandre Company. The curved gable and scroll ornament on this building make it like an giant elephant. During the Republic of China, it was used by Credit Foncier dExtreme-Orent. In the early 1960s, well-known artist Sun Daolin (1921-2007) lived here.
262 Hunan Road, Hunan Villa on the corner of Wukang Road and Hunan Road(Old name: Route A.Charles Culty, named after the British ambassador to China, built between 1918-1921, a 1025m long sylvan villa-lined road). Built in 1918-1921. Many celebrities such as Zhou Fohai（1897-1948）the Shanghai Mayor and Vice President of the Executive Yuan of the Wangs puppet regime after the outbreak of the Pacific War. The 1st Communist Mayor of Shanghai, Marshal Chen Yi and Deng Xiaoping also once stayed in this villa. The 2 families stayed upstairs and downstairs.
Further down on Wukang Road on the right, by the side of Midget Apartment, you can find a garden villa behind high wall with a big gate. It is the Former Residence of Bajin (one of the most renowned Chinese writer). Now it is a museum for him opened to the public.
The lane by the side of Hunan Villa.
113 Wukang Road, Former Residence of Bajin. Built in 1923, it is an European-style detached garden house. Originally it was owned by . Ba Jin (1904-2005), one of the most renowned Chinese writer, used to live here after 1955. One of his best works including Random Thoughts were written here. The residence opened to the public as a writers home museum in December 2011. The house contains a collection of books, manuscripts, and photographs. The open hour is from 10:00 to 16:00 Tuesday - Sunday.
111 Wukang Road, Modern style garden villa, originally belonged to an British businessman.
109 Wukang Road. This discreet villa was reported by many websites that it was once the residence of Mr. Gu, Zhutong（1893-1987）, the Commander-in-Chief of the Army during Republic of China. But it is wrong. In fact, the residence of Mr. Gu, Zhutong was at 105 Ferguson Road (now N.3, Lane 20, Hunan Road).
212 Wukang Road, Former Residence of Mr. Yan Jitang （1880—1958年）- the founder and owner of Dalong Machine Factory (from 1902 until now). It is almost the biggest machine factory at that time and now it is also one of biggest machine factories in China. He moved to Brazil in 1949 and came to Taiwan and died in Taiwan in 1958.
210 Wukang Road, the famous "Romeo‘s Balcony" in Shanghai，This Spanish villa was Built in 1923.
The 1st owner of this villa is Wu, Shufa (吴顺发 in Chinese). Sold to Li, Kezhong in 1935,then sold to Mr. Zhou, Zhisheng (周芝生 in Chinese) very soon. Mr. Zhou, Zhisheng got divorced and this villa was given to his wife Ms. Jin, Qiaozhen（金巧珍 in Chinese）and his 8 babies. They stayed in this villa until 1951 and sold it at RMB28,000. The new owner of this villa is Mr. Li, Cangzhuo (李藏拙 in Chinese) the director of Shanghai Bearing Factory. Mr.Li and his wife have 5 babies. In 1966, this villa was taken over by government. And in 1984, this villa was returned back to Mr.Lis family.
107 Wukang Road, Former Residence of Mr. Chen Kuo-fu (1892-1951)- one of the representatives of Chens family. Chens family is one of the 4 Top Families during the Republic of China, along with Jiangs Family (the Family of the president of the Republic of China), Songs Family (Jiangs Wifes Family), Kongs Family (The Family of Jiangs Wifes Brother-in-Law). This British countryside style Villa was built in 1946. It is said that Mr. Chen Kuo-fu stayed here from 1946 to 1948.
Coffee Tago, one of the best cafe on Wukang Road. It is always crowed.
Around the corner of Fuxing West Road is 199 Fuxing West Road. Originally it is within the same courtyard of 188 Wukang Road. It was once the residence of the general manager of Mercantile Bank of India. This British bank is one of the first foreign banks to be in Shanghai and exist longest in Shanghai from Oct 1854 to 1955.
99 Wukang Road, Former Residence of Mr. Liu, Jingji. It has been designated as an outstanding historical building in Shanghai and immovable cultural relic in Xuhui District.
This garden villa of British countryside style was built in 1928. It was originally the residence of the British general manager of Caldbeck, Macgregor & Co.,Ltd. Mr. Liu, Jingji (1902-1998), the vice chairman of the 6th, 7th and 8th Chinese Peoples Political Consultative Conference lived here after the 1980s.
The Bar and Restaurant at the intersection with Wuyuan Road.
67 Wukang Road, the Former Residence of Mr. Chen Li-fu. It was built during the Republic of China as a British countryside garden villa. Mr. Chen Li-fu (1900-2001) , former Vice President of the Legislative Yuan, the National Government, once lived here. He is also one of the representatives of Chens family. Chens family is one of the 4 Top Families during the Republic of China, along with Jiangs Family (the Family of the president of the Republic of China), Songs Family (Jiangs Wifes Family), Kongs Family (The Family of Jiangs Wifes Brother-in-Law).
1, Lane 40, Wukang Road, Former Residence of Mr.Tang, Shaoyi. It has been designated as an outstanding historical building in Shanghai and immovable cultural relic in Xuhui District.
Built in 1932, the Spanish-style detached garden house was designed by renowned architect Dong Dayou. From 1937 to 1938, it served as the residence of Mr.Tang Shaoyi (1862-1938) who was the 1st prime minister of the Republic of China.
4, Lane 40, Wukang Road, Former residence of Mr.Yan Fuqing. It has been designated as Cultural Relic Preservation Unit of Xuhui District. Built in 1923 as a garden residence of British countryside villa style. From 1943 to 1950, Chinese medical educator and public hygienist Yan Fuqing (1882-1970) lived here.
Mr. Yan, Fuqing is the founder of Shanghai Medical University, Shanghai Zhongshan Hospital and First Pulmonary Hospital of Shanghai.
Here it is the end of Wukang Road. Lets walk back for only around one hundred meters. Turn left into Wuyuan Road (Old name Route Mgr. Maresca) and head east. This tree-lined Wuyuan Road is totally 820m long (but we only walk for around 200m on it.) and 15-17m wide. It was built before 1925 and named after Mr. F.Xavier Maresca, the bishop of Nanjing Parish of Catholic Church (1849-1855).
A little further down the road on the right, you can find Lane 289, Wuyuan Road, Garden Villa, was built in 1933. The British-style garden villas in a row were originally aliens’ apartment. Now these villas belong to the Catholic Church.
283-285 Wuyuan Road, the house of Mr. Zhu, Hengqing, the owner of the biggest Steel Works in China at that time. This garden villa was built from 1946 to 1948.
The white Garden Villa on the opposite of the house of Mr. Zhu, Hengqing lies a white garden villa. This is the site of Soong Ching Ling Foundation of China Welfare Institute. The Gothic Revival style Garden residence is at 314 Wuyuan Road. This brick and concrete composite structure was built in 1932.
Address: No.3, Lane 288, Wuyuan Road.
Built in 1930s. Covers an area of 261s.m.
Entry is free.
The detached modern style garden villa at the end of the lane next to the white house is the Former Residence of Mr. Zhang Leping, the most famous Cartoonist of children in China.
Mr. Zhang Leping (1910.11.10 ～ 1992.9.28) stayed here from June, 1950 to September, 1992. Now this villa has been converted into a museum for Zhamg Leping. As the pioneer of the Chinese childrens picture-story books, he once created "The Adventure of San Maos Enlistment" and "The Adventures of San Maos Vagrancy", which made him well known as "The Father of San Mao". San Mao means 3 Hairs - a bony boy with only 3 hairs on head, the most famous cartoon figure of children. It was created by Zhang Leping in 1935 in Shanghai.
By the way, Zhang Leping had 7 babies himself stayed in this house.
1, Land 288, Wuyuan Road, Former Residence of Cheng Jitang, General of the Army during the Republic of China. He was the representative of Guangdong warlord and controlled Guangdong Province for many years.
Now this building is a upscale Custom-tailor Store.
2, Lane 270, Wukang Road, a charming European Antiquites Store.
253-267, 269-271 Wuyuan Road, YAFA COURT. Built in 1933, occupies 441 s.m. It was designed by Mr. Robert Wenzhao Fan (1893～1979), the most famous architect in Shanghai at that time. He designed Shanghai Concert Hall, The Building of the Young Women’s Christian Association (Now the 4 star Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq, YMCA), Majestic Theatre...
258 Wuyuan Road, Liberty Apartments. Built in 1937. Art Deco style. Designed by a Jewish architect.
It is a very famous apartment building with a spacious charming garden before it. It makes it far from the street (Many apartments buildings at that time in Shanghai are by the side of road.) The decoration of it is exquisite and the layout of it is both reasonable and perfect.
The name of it is Liberty, maybe it represents the hope of Jewish. But after it completed, many germans stayed in this Apartments.
251 Wuyuan Road, Garden residence. Built in 1939. Brick-and-concrete composite structrure. English style. At the intersection of Wuyuan Road and Yongfu Road lies this distinguished red detached villa.
Turn to Yongfu Road (old name Route Pere Huc) here and head south.
47 Yongfu Road. This building is packed with many trendy bars and restaurants.
El Cóctel (2nd floor), A celebrated Shanghai cocktail bar with the relaxed Spanish style of nightlife serving classic cocktails. It is said the cocktail here is the best cocktail in Shanghai. The drinks here are expertly hand-crafted by the small team of expert bartenders, ex-Ginza mixologist, using only premium quality liquors and ingredients, freshly pressed seasonal fruits, and hand-cut ice. The menu is updated seasonally.
Bocado (2nd floor), This Spanish restaurant is famous for its Tapas. The fruity Sangria is reputedly the best in Shanghai.
The Apartment (3rd floor), Modeled on a New York loft-style lounge which is of the most famous feature in Shanghai. The Apartment is a stylish but relaxed lounge space split into two rooms - a larger group sitting area and a smaller dining room with a few tables.
A little further down on the opposite, at the intersection with West Fuxing Road, is a walled giant villa with wide entrance on the wall. Now it is used by Shanghai Film Group Corp.
52 Yongfu Road, Residence of R. Buchard. Designed by Elliot Hazzard. Reinforced concrete structure. Built in 1932 with the floor area of 600s.m. Inside the entrance is a large green field with an elegant detached Spanish-style garden villa. Now the entrance of it is on Yongfu Road but the entrance building is new. You can view the back side of the villa from the large open gate. The whole front view of the house can be enjoyed through the iron fence on West Fuxing Road.
The original owner of this villa is Mr. Sun Duoxin and Mr. Sun Duosen, the founder of Shanghai Fufeng Flour Mill. Then is sold to Mr. R. Buchard, a French missionary. Now it is owned by Shanghai Film Group Corp.
We will turn left on West Fuxing Road here.
West Fuxing Road (Old name: Route Gustare de Boissenzon) was the main road in this area. This west – east road, built in 1914, is 1043m long and 18.5m wide. The name of this road is after a French soilder Gustare de Boissenzon (1891-1917) who once stayed in Shanghai and died at the Battle of Verdun. He was awarded the Military Cross for gallantry in 1916 – the most famous military medal in France.
But another record said the name of this road is after the general eningeer of the Municipal Administrative Council (conseil d’administration municipale) who is in charge of the road building in the concession.
Walking down the sylvan road to the west, you can enjoy the green field, old but elegant houses, bars and boutiques on the sides of the road. The buildings here are mainly in art deco style.
82 West Fuxing Road, Boxing Cat Brewery, one of the most famous bar brands in Shanghai.
Around 150 m to the west, you can find a yellow Spanish villa like building facing to the north with a oval bronze medal. It is the former residence of Ke Ling.
Room 203, 147 West Fuxing Road, Former Residence of Ke Ling, Immovable Cultural Relic Registered in Xuhui District.
This Spanish-style residential structure was built in 1933, with gentle slope roof, little extended eaves, yellow stucco coating outer wall. The front facade is decorated with threaded columns and semicircular arch window and door. This building is kind of stranger. This building looks like a villa from outside. But the inner layout is like an apartment building.
Ke Ling (original name Gao Jiling) (1909-2000) is a famous playwright, writer, and critics. On 30 Dec 1945, Ke Ling, with other 25 people in culture domain, set up China Association for Promoting Democracy. He was the director of Shanghai Film Art Research Institute, Vice Chairman of Chinese Writers Association Shanghai Branch, Vice Chairman of China Film Association Shanghai Branch. From 1951 to 2000, he lived in Room 203, 2nd floor here. After died, His residence was converted to a little museum and opened to the public in Mar, 2016.
Entry is free.
Turn back on West Fuxing Raod after the visit at this villa and head east.
62 West Fuxing Road，The Cloister，Built in 1930.
This Spanish building was built in 1930. Although the name of it is The Cloister, it has nothing to do with the monastery. It is a brick-and-concrete structure, and consists of a two-floor south building (front building) and a three-floor north building (rear building), which are connected by a colonnade, and each of which has an independent entrance. In the middle is an inner courtyard. Each floor of each building consists of two residential units, and the house types include three bedrooms, four bedrooms, five bedrooms, etc.
Bars, Villas and a foreign kindergarden…
Lane 44 West Fuxing Road, Rose Villa. Built in 1937-1945.
Ms. Lan Ni and Mr. Sun Ke
Ms.Lan Ni and Ms. Sun Huifen
34 West Fuxing Road. Willow Court. Designed by Leonard, Veysseyre & Kruze. Architects. Built in 1934. Reinforced concrete structure. Modern apartments in art deco style. This 12-storeyed building towards south by east 15 degree – it is the best orientation of a building in Shanghai area. There is a lovely garden between this building and West Fuxing Road. This apartments is one of the 4 most famous old apartment buildings in the colonial period in Shanghai.
26 West Fuxing Road, Boissezon Apartments, Built in 1931. The concave-shaped triangle balcony in this Art Deco style building is interesting.
24 West Fuxing Road, Magy Apartments. Completed in 1936. Reinforced concrete structure. Modern style . This 10-storeyed building is 40m high and covers a floor area of 1220.1 s.m. and a construction area of 1939 s.m. It has been kept very well after it was completed. This apartments is also one of the 4 most famous old apartment buildings in the colonial period in Shanghai.
17 West Fuxing Road, an ornate Spanish garden villa (Now the Iran Consulate in Shanghai), build in 1932, in Spanish style.
The statue of Mr. Nie Er (1912－1935), the composer of the China National Anthem stands at the east end in the triangle garden in the middle of Magy Apartments, the Iran Consulate in Shanghai, American Consulate in Shanghai and French Consulate in Shanghai.
On Middle Wulumuqi Road, right side is the triangle garden, left side is the the Iran Consulate in Shanghai.
On the opposite of the statue of Nie Er stands, across Middle Huaihai Road (Old name: Avenue Joffre), stands a very charming Spanish style villa behind wall - French Consulate in Shanghai.
On the opposite of the statue of Nie Er stands, across Middle Huaihai Road (Old name: Avenue Joffre), stands a very charming Spanish style villa behind wall - French Consulate in Shanghai.
1469 Middle Huaihai Road, American Consulate in Shanghai. Completed in 1921. This garden residence is a Brick-and-concrete composite structrure and in French Renaissance style. It covers 3 acres with some orange trees, a rockery and a Koi pool in the garden. Before American Consulate in Shanghai, it had many owners: originally it was used by Jardian Matheson & Co., then the residence of a Japanese businessman, afterwards it was used as the residence of Switzerland consul general. In 1946, it was bought by Mr. Rong Hongyuan, a very famous textile business man in Shanghai. But he left here very soon. After 1949, it was used by Womens Federation, then the guest house of government until it was used by American Consulate in 28 Apr 1980. On this day, a former Chinese staff of old American Consulate in Shanghai gave the American Consul General Mr. Donald Anderson an American National Flag which was lowered by the last American Consul General in 1949.
The South Wulumuqi Road. The left side is French Consulate. The right side is American Consulate.
Turn left on South Wulumuqi Road which is between French Consulate and American Consulate, walking around the enclosure of French Consulate, the cobblestoned Taojiang Road on the back of French Consulate will come into your view.
The small triangle garden between South Wulumuqi Road, Taojiang Raod and Dongping Road. Originally it was the part of the private garden of the Former Residence of Ms. Soong Ching Ling, 45 Taojiang Road,
South Wulumuqi Road, old name Route Louis Dufour, was built in 1918. It is 1195m long, 15-16m wide and the Grade One Historical View Protection Road in Shanghai and one of the 64 roads which will never be widened.
Taojiang Road, old name Route Henri Riviere, was built in 1913. It is 500m long and named after the name of French naval commander Mr. Henri Riviere. Mr. Henri Riviere is famous on the conflict of the Red River free trade problem between France and Vietnam in 1881. In next year, Mr. Henri Riviere occupied Hanoi. The Hanoi governor Mr. Huang Yao was defeated and committed suicide. Riviere died on 19 May 1883 in the battle near Hanoi against the Chinese reinforcement - Black Flag Army.
Dongping Road, old name Route Francis Garnier, was built in 1913. It is 400m long and 11.5-12.4m wide and named after the name of French Consul General at that time.
45 Taojiang Road, the Former Residence of Madam. Soong Ching Ling, the wife of Dr. Sun Yat-sen, the 1st President and the founer of the Republic of China. She stayed here from Nov 1945-1947. This Tudor style 2-storeyed detached villa was built in 1920, covers a floor area of 700 s.m. The front facade is syllogistic with mansard red tile roof and yellow cement outer walls.
Madam. Soong Ching Ling
39 Taojiang Road, the Former Residence of Mr. Yu Jishi (1904～1990), the captain of the guard of Chiang Kai Shek – the president of the Republic of China. Built in 1923, construction area of 666 s.m. in Germany Bavaria style, brick-and-wood composite structure.
31 Taojiang Road, the former Residence of Xuan Tiewu (1896-1964), former chief of Shanghai Policy Station during the Republic of China. This detached garden residence was built in the early Republic of China.
A little further down is the intersection with Hengshan Road. This is the scene to the east at this intersection.
Turn right into Hengshan Road, the next intersection is Dongping Road. This is a charming garden villa at the corner.
Turn left across Hengshan Road, a red French palace style villa with black mansard roof stands on the corner.
11 Dongping Road. Built in 1921. Brick-and-concrete composite structure. Originally it is the residence of T. V. Soong (4 Dec 1894 - 26 Apr 1971), the minister of China Foreign Affairs from 1942 and attend the 1st United Nations Assembly as the chief representative of China in 1945. Then became the prime minister of the Republic of China until 1 March 1947.
Now it is one of the most famous Bar in Shanghai – Sasha’s. The feature of it is with a big open air balcony and spacious garden. The southern front facade is cambered open air colonnade with Tuscan columns.
Taojiang Road is packed with trendy charming bars, cafes, restaurants and boutiques.
9 Dongping Road, Elementary School and Middle School affiliated to Shanghai Conservatory of Music. The French style Villa of Masonry.structure inside the entrance in the photo is the bridal chamber for Chiang-Kai-Shak (31 Oct 1887 – 5 Apr 1975) and Song May-ling (5 Mar 1897 – 24 Oct 2003) - the president of the Republic of China and his wife. They got married on 1 Dec 1927. It was built in 1916, extended in 1928 and 1932. Originally it is owned by the manager of a German company which is one of the first 5 foreign companies in Shanghai. It was bought by Song s family as the dowry of Song May-ling. Chiang Kai-shek named it as "Love House".
The wedding photo of Chiang Kai-shek and Song May-ling
1 Dongping Road, the Former Residence of Mr. Xi Debin. Built in 1913, In German style. Mr. Xi Debin is the master of Central Mint in 1940s. After 1950s, It was the office building of the principal of the Middle School affiliated to Shanghai Conservatory of Music. In 1998, it was leased out and converted into a famous restaurant. The name of the restaurant is also The Garden of Xi’s Family.
The statue of Pushkin located in the little garden at the intersection of Taojiang Road, Dongping Road, Fenyang Road, Yueyang Road. It was firstly built on 10 Feb 1937 by the Russian immigrants in Shanghai. At that time, there were many Russian immigrants in Shanghai. But it was tore down in Nov 1944 during the 2nd World War. It was rebuilt on 28 Feb 1947, but being tore down again in 1966. The current statue was established in Aug 1987.
Fenyang Road (old name Route Pichon) was built in 1902. It is 815m long and namde after the French Minister in China.
A little further down to the east into Fenyang Raod, on the right there is a large green field inside the iron fence. Through the big gate (150 Fenyang Road.), the giant white villa on the left side of the leafy lane is the Former Residence of Pai Chung-hsi (now a Japanese food restaurant -Ambrosia) which was built in 1920. It is in French classicism style. The east semicircle part is made in concavo-convex glass imported from France. Originally it was the private garden villa owned by Mr. M·speelman, a French businessman. He was the director of International Savings Society in Shanghai and once the No.1 magnate in the French Concession. He got married with a spendthrift songstress. It was said that 2 rooms in the house were packed with her shoes. He was put in prison in 1941 by Japanese invader. After the 2nd World War, this house was taken over by the government. Pai Chung-hsi (18 Mar 1893 - 2 Dec 1966), the General of the Army and the minister of National Defense stayed in this villa until the end of 1948. After 1950s, it was used by Shanghai Yue Opera Troup. Now it is a Japanese food restaurant - Ambrosia.
79 Fenyang Road, the Official Residence of the President of the Municipal Council of French Concession. This white French Renaissance Style house was built in 1905. It was designed by Mr. Laszlo Hudec, the most famous architect in the colonial period in Shanghai. Its constrution area is 1496 s.m. Because of its colour, it is called as "Little White House in Shanghai". After 1945, it was once used as the first site of Asian and Pacific region Office of World Health Organization. Now it is Shanghai arts and Crafts Museum. The entry is free.
The photo of the Official Residence of the President of the Municipal Council of French Concession when it was completed in 1905.
Heading south along the enclosure of Shanghai arts and Crafts Museum, at the intersection of Yongkang Road (old name Route Remi) and Taiyuan Road (old name Route Delastre), you can find many Spanish style garden villas on the opposite of Yongkang Road. It is the famous Yongkang Villas (old name Remi Apartments), Lane 175 Yongkang Road, which was built in 1931. It is the Outstanding Historical Building promulgated by Shanghai Municipal Government. The Masonry structure, Terrace houses with Spanish style.
Yongkang Road (old name Route Remi) was built in 1884, around 600 m long.
Taiyuan Road (old name Route Delastre) was built between 1919 - 1921, 990 m long and 15-23 m wide, named after a French expatriate in Shanghai.
200 Yongkang Road, Shanghai 2nd Middle School (old name the site of Remi Primary School, only the kids of French expatriates could study in it. )
Further down the road to the intersection with South Xiangyang Road (old name Route Tenant de la Tour), you can find many ultra-chill, hole-in-the-wall bars, cafes and restaurants stand side by side, even spill onto the sidewalk, on the next section of Yongkong Road – the narrow residential street.
Walking past this short section of Yongkong Road, only 100m away is the end of this Yongkong Road. Turn left and head north for only around 100m, you will arrive at Middle Fuxing Road (Old name Route Lafayette). Turn right here and head east.
At the intersection with South Shaanxi Road (old name Avenue du Roi Albert), on the right side across the road, stands 16 4-storyed French apatments buildings. It is Shaannan New Village (Old name King Albert Apartments). Address: 151-187 South Shanxi Road. Designed by Levin. This terrace houses style masonry sructure apartments was completed in 1930, invested by the French Catholic Church in Shanghai. It is the Outstanding Historic Building promulgated by Shanghai Municipal Government and commonly considered as the best colonial period apartments in Shanghai.
The buildings on the another side at the intersection of Middle Fuxing Road and South Shanxi Road.
Middle Fuxing Road (Old name Route Lafayette) is the 2nd most important road in the former French Concession, only next to Middle Huaihai Road (old name Avenue Joffre). It was built between 1914 and 1931, and 3494m long.
South Shaanxi Road (old name Avenue du Roi Albert) was built in 1911, 2360m long and 15-17m wide. It is named after the king of Belgium Albert I..
Heading east for around 50m, on your right, lies the Culture Plaza, a famous theatre with very large green field. Originally in 1920s, it is the site of French Yiyuan Dogtrack (Le Champ de Courses Francais) with capacity of 20,000 audience. It was once called the the Biggest Casino in the Fareast.
Turn right at the Culture Plaza down to South Maoming Road (old name Route Cardinal Mercier). We will get into Ruijin Hotel (originally Morriss Garden) through its west entrance.
South Maoming Road (old name Route Cardinal Mercier) was built in 1919.
Ruijing Hotel is a very large compound with 4 giant British and Spanish villas and spacious British style garden lawn. The No.1 Villa in it was completed in 1917 with a construction area of 1135 s.m. and was owned by Benjamin Morriss.
John Morriss, the father of Benjamin Morriss, took ship to Shanghai from Ireland in1867 at his 17 years old. He is one of the earliest western adventurers in Shanghai, as famous as Hardoon and Sassoon. He made a fortune by betting on racehorse. He was a real estate developer and the owner of French Yiyuan Dogtrack (Le Champ de Courses Francais). He was also the owner of the first and most influential English newspaper in China - the North China Daily News. The real estates developed by him can be found many places in the central Shanghai. His son, Benjamin Morriss, was educated in Britain, was an excellent architect and engineer. He developed his familys business in Shanghai very much. If no Benjamin Morriss, there would be no Shikumen (Stone gate house) - the typical Shanghai style residence house building combined with the features of western townhouse and Chinese courtyard. In 1905, he designed the first New Style Shikumen Lane in Shanghai - Lane 188 Chongqing Road.
Leave the hotel at its east entrance, 118 Ruijin 2nd Road (Old name Route Pere Robert).
Ruijin 2nd Road (Old name Route Pere Robert) was built in 1907 and 1517m long, 15 - 20m wide.
Further down the road, pass Shaoxing Road (old name Route Victor Emmanuel Ⅲ, built in 1926 and named after the name of a Italian King. Only 480m long and 12.3-18.5m wide.). Shaoxing Raod is the famous culture road with some state publishing companies and bars, cafes, including the Cafe Vienna where you can get the best German meals and cakes.
197 Ruijin 2nd Road, Ruijin Hospital (Old name: Hospital Sainte-Marie), opened on 13 Oct, 1907. It was built and owned by French Catholic Church. Now it is the Grade A of 3rd Class Hospital - the top grade hospital in China, occupies an area of 120,000 s.m..
The building for the Department of Heart Disease Surgery in the Hospital Sainte-Marie, built in 1933.
Further down the road and head south, across Middle Jiangguo Road (Old name: Route Stanislas Chevalier), you will get into the famous Tianzifang.
Middle Jiangguo Road (Route Stanislas Chevalier) was built in 1902, named after a Catholic priest in Shanghai. It is 588m long and 15 - 17 m wide.
Tianzifang, a maze of tiny alleys crammed full of more than 200 crafts shops, art and photographic studios, boutiques, design studios, galleries, bars, coffee shops and restaurants where some older residents still live. It is part of Shanghai’s urban renewal project and transformed itself from legacy residential architectures and factories into an artsy area. It is ardently supported by crowds of yuppies, trend setters, designers and expatriates, who fall for temptation of old Shikumen houses (stone-framed-door houses) and lanes with infinite novelties. It is well worth a visit, even if you’re not big on shopping.
The development of Tianzifang is fairly recent. It is also known as Taikang Road which was a back street in Dapuqiao district. The year 1998 is a watershed in Tianzifang’s history. Chen Yifei, one of Chinas most renowned contemporary artists, took over two abandoned factory buildings in Lane 210, Taikang Road, and converted them into his oil painting, sculpture, fashion and photograph studios. The cross-street sculpture - Art Door designed by Cheng Yifei now stands at the eastern end of Taikang Road, famed as the Icon of Taikang Art Street.
Like Xintiandi, Tianzifang is one of a small number of old Shanghai shikumen buildings. The difference is the vivid live atmosphere stimulated from Tianzifang. The original buildings are still intact, true to the authentic features of the lanes in Shanghai, with Shikumen architecture to the fore. There are over 20 varieties of well-preserved shikumen buildings in Tianzifang, whose types and completeness rank with the best in the city. Many original residents still live in the narrow lanes. Please be mindful and respect their privacy. Both visitors and local residents deserve a respite in these acres.
Tianzifang is a vanguard of creative expressions. Every boutique shines with flashes of wit and creativity with one of a kind handmade novelty items. Tourists from overseas sit outside a café, while inhabitants hurry by. Most old walls are used as panels to exhibit latest elaborate doodles in bright colors. Tianzifang survives the surrounding city demolition by working in art. Its preservation is significant for the city’s cultural heritage.
Leave Tianzifang and head north to walk back to Middle Jianguo Road again. Right on the opposite, across Middle Jianguo Road, you will find some giant red buildings in East Hindu architecture. One of the buildings is the Site of Former French Concession Courthouse, completed in 1915. Later it became local courthouse for No.2 Special District, and then Shanghai local court under Wang puppet regime. Hosted the Highest Peoples Court Eastern Chian Branch. Shanghai Higher Peoples Court and District. It was promulgated as a historical site by Shanghai Municipal Government in 2003. Another building is the Site of Former French Concession Police Department or Central Detention House, completed in 1918. Ground floor hosted the largest detention house in French Concession at that time. Since 1943, hosted Police Department Lu Jia Wan Branch.
Turn down into Sinan Road (Old name Rue Massenet) and head north.
On the right of this narrow leafy street is the Medical School of Shanghai Jiaotong University, on the left is the east gate of Ruijin Hospital, Medical School of Shanghai Jiaotong University.
Sinan Road (Old name Rue Massenet) was completed in 1914, in the memory of the famous French musician - Massenet (12 May 1842 - 13 Aug 1912) who was a French composer of the Romantic era best known for his operas, of which he wrote more than thirty. The two most frequently staged are Manon (1884) and Werther (1892). He also composed oratorios, ballets, orchestral works, incidental music, piano pieces, songs and other music. Now in 16th arrondissement of Paris (also known as "Arrondissement de Passy"), there is still a same name road.
Further down this quiet picturesque street with pretty buildings and villas on each sides, many elegant detached French style garden villas will appear in front of your eyes. Built in 1920s, this community was designed by French architect and copied from the buildings in Biarritz, a famous beach resort by the side of Atlantic in the south France near Spain. The following is the info of this Biarritz like community.
The Museum House next to this Venue
73 Sinan Road (formerly 107 Rue Massenet), Former Residence of Zhou Enlai in Shanghai. It was the residence of Zhou?Enlai (1898–1976), the first Premier?of?the?Peoples?Republic?of?China from 1949 until his death om 1976. Zhou Enlai stayed in the house during 1946. It was the Shanghai Office of the Delegates of the Communist?Party?of?China in 1946–7. In 1945 the Communist Party and the Nationalist Party formulated "the guidelines for peaceful country build-up". The representative office was set up by the CPC delegation headed by Comrade Zhou En Lai in June 1946 as to carry out the following negotiations and united front work. Under the name of "General Zhou En Lais Residence" (abbreviated to "Sir Zhous Mansion"), the office was where Comrade Zhou En Lai held a number of press conferences and met with Chinese and foreign friends.
Covering an area of 850 square meters with a courtyard in the front of it and bamboo fence around it, this elegant three-storeyed house was built in the 1920s in French style. The house was listed as a municipal relic in 1959 and became a memorial in 1979. The house is open daily, 9am–5pm, free of charge.
Sinan Mansions is the only one project in the central Shanghai in order to protect acres of villas. With 51 villas built in 1920s in the heart of the former French Concession, almost all kinds of architectures in morden Shanghai can be found in this area, including detached garden villas, veranda style architectures, townhouses with courtyard, townhouse without courtyard. It was a hub of high society where dignitaries, entrepreneurs, professionals and renowned artists frequented and lived. Shanghai Municipal Investment, the developer, spearheaded a $3.5 billion restoration project to revitalize Shanghai’s former glory. The total area covers around 50,000 s.m. The total construction area is around 80,000 s.m. Many luxurious villas have been renovated and reimagined, converted to upscale hotel - Hotel Massenet. Someother villas were converted to cafes, restaurants, boutiques and galleries.
Walking on West Fuxing Road to the east for around 80 meters, on the opposite across West Fuxing Road is Fuxing Park (Old name Parc de Kuokaza or French Garden). Walking in the area just beyond the boundaries of Fuxing Park feels almost like walking through a backstreet of London. While Xiangshan Road leads to the always-chaotic Huaihai Road, the area is a picture of serenity.
Head north to cross Middle Fuxing Road. This is the northwardly view of the intersection of Middle Fuxing Road and Sinan Road.
On the northeast corner of the intersection of Middle Fuxing Road and Sinan Road, you will find this yellow Spanish style villa.
41 Sinan Road, Shanghai Research Institute of Culture and History (Old name: Wallace Residence). Spanish style garden villa. Brick-and-concrete composite structure. Built in 1920s. It is the Outstanding Historical Building promulgated by Shanghai Municipal Government. The original owner of this vila is Mr. Jin Tingsun, one of the big shots of the black society at that time. Then it was sold to Mr.Yuan Zuoliang, the manager of Kincheng Bank, one of the biggest banks in old China.
The Villas on Sinan Road:
48 Sinan Road, reputedly it was owned by Yuan Shikai, the 2nd president of the Republic of China.
46 Sinan Road, once used by French Concession Police Station.
Head north and just next to the Shanghai Research Institute of Culture and History, at the corner of Sinan Road and Xiangshan Road, stands the iron fence entrance to The Former Residence of Sun Yat-sen, the founder and 1st president of The Republic of China.
Dr. Sun Yat-Sen (1866–1925) & his wife Soong Ching-ling (1893 -1981)
7 Xiangshan Road (Old name Rue Moliere, Built in 1914, 328m long and 12m wide. named after French playwright Moliere.), The Former Residence of Dr. Sun Yat-Sen (1866–1925), the founder and 1st president of The Republic of China. Sun Yat-sen lived in this house from 1918 with his wife Soong?Ching-ling. After his death, Suns wife continued to live here until 1937. There is now an exhibition centre presenting Sun Yat-sens life, together with some artifacts and a statue of Sun Yat-sen outside. You can see things such as an officer’s sword, military maps and pens. In the living room and halls, you can see pictures and hundreds of books. He married his wife in Tokyo, and you can see a picture of them.
The two-story European-style villa covers a floor area of 2500 s.m. It was bought by some overseas Chinese as a gift for Dr Sun to support his revolution and he wrote several books there. Opening to the public in 1988, it is listed as an important historical site and placed under the states protection.
There is a new museum in a three-story garden villa next to the house. It measures 700 square meters, and it has hundreds of artifacts and mementos that you can see.
6 Xiangshan Road, Residence of Augustinian. Built in 1920s. French and Spanish Renasissance garden residence. Masonry structure. The floor area of it is 1576 s.m. and the construction area is 1005 s.m.
This building looks very charming and graceful. But now the garden is not kept very well and looks like a jungle. It was built in the money got by fraud. In 1920s, many American countris include the States always received many letters and magzines named "Missions Reculetos" from Shanghai. In the letter, the receivers were told that the priests in Shanghai Augustinian were doing very hard to save the soul of local poor Chinese people. So they hope the wealthy people in American countries to donate money to them. But in fact, so called the priests in Shanghai Augustinian did nothing in Shanghai but to cheat money from overseas. In western countries, the friars in Augustinian are Mendicant friar. They can not own their private property. But in Shanghai, these priests indulged in this kind of luxurious life. In the record, the priests who stayed in this villa are Rev.P.Gerezal, Rev.F.Alvarad, Rev.G.Castrillo and Rev.E.Blanco.
44 Sinan Road, the Former Residence of Mr. Lu Han (1895~1974). Lu Han, an army Admiral, was once the Chairman of Yunnan Province government. He stayed here in 1940s.
A Cafe by the side of the entrance of 44 Sinan Road,Antique Garden. The antique furnitures in this cafe can be sold to customers.
42 Sinan Road
40 Sinan Road
36 Sinan Road, the Former Residence of Yang Sen (20 Feb 1884 - 15 May 1977). Yang Sen, an army Admiral, was once the Chairman of Guizhou Province government. After his stay, this villa was sold to Huang Jinrong, one of the 3 Biggest Shots of the black society in Shanghai at that time. His 2 side wifes stayed in this villa.
Head west down to Gaolan Road (old name Rue Corneille, built in 1914, named after French poet Corneille, 278m long and 12m wide.) for a little while, you can find a very graceful Orthodox Church.
16 Gaolan Road, St Nicholas Church. It was a Russian?Orthodox?Church. The building was built in 1932 (completed in 1934) on the initiative of White?Russians in Shanghai, refugees of the revolution?of?1917, especially General Glebov. It was consecrated in 1937 in honour of St Nicholas, patron saint of the former Russian Emperor, Nicholas?II. The church was closed in 1949 when Europeans left following the Chinese?Civil?War. It was first converted into a warehouse and then a laundry. During the Expo?2010, its loft was reconsecrated to allow Russian Orthodox services to be held there.
Turn back to east, walk for only around 100m, you will get to the east end of Gaolan Road, the West Gate of Fuxing Park lies there.
Occupying 76,866 s.m., Fuxing Park (Old name Parc de Kuokaza or French Garden) is the most famous French style park, reputedly the only one well protected old French style park in China. The 1st stage project of park building was completed in June 1909, and the expansion Project completed in 1926, once the largest park in Shanghai. The 1st stage project was designed by French horticulturist Papot.The expansion project was mainly designed by French horticulturist Jousseaume. A young Chinese garden designer Mr.Yu Xiling (郁锡麒 in Chinese) also joined the expansion project. Because of his insistence, a very charming Chinese style garden corner with a lotus lake and a rockery appeared in the southwest of the park. The park, about 10 ha. in size, has more than 170 kinds oi plants, and a large lawn, a lake, fountains, covered pavilions, flowerbeds, a Children’s Playground with a merry-go-around and so on.
The French Style Sunken Flower Bed in the middle of this park is the most famous feature in the park. During the 2nd world war period, in order to save the animals in the Shanghai Zoo, there is a little zoo established in the park to feed the animals from Shanghai Zoo.
Now in early morning, the park fills with dancers, card players, mahjong enthusiasts, and tai?chi solo and group artists. According to Time magazines Hannah?Beech, it is one of the must-see sights in Shanghai.
To the North Entrance of Fuxing Park at Yandang Road.
Leave the Park from its north entrance on Yandang Road (Old name Rue de Camp, then changed to Route Voyron), turn left into Shanghai Science Hall (old name College Francais, Ecole de Franc in French). It was built in 1917 as the French Club. In 1926, the French Club was moved to South Maoming Road. Here was changed to College Francais for the education of French expats kids. It is a Brick-and-concrete composite structure. French style with Art Nouveau decoration.
Yandang Road (Old name Rue de Camp because the Fuxing Park at the south end of this road was once the French barracks, then changed to Route Voyron) was completed in 1902. It is 290m long and 17.9-21m wide.
Leave the main entrance of Shanghai Science Hall on 47 Nanchang Road. On the oppoesite of Nanchang Road is Shanghai Villa.
Nanchang Road (old name: Route Dollfus for the east part of road between South Chongqing Road and Yandang Road which is named after a French military officer - Dollfus and built in 1902. And Route Vallon for the west of the road between Yandang Road and South Xiangyang Road which is named after a French pilot - Vallon and built in 1912.) is totally 1690 m long and 14 -15 m wide.
Lane 110 Nanchang Road, Shanghai Villa. Built 1916.Masonry structure, New-style.
A cozy bar near Lane 110.
The next lane in the west is Lane 136. Park Terrace. Built between 1912 and 1936. Masonry structure. New-style.
No. 11, inside the Lane 136 is the Former Residence of Mr.Xu Zhimo and Ms. Lu Xiaoman. Xu Zhimo (1897.1.15-1931.11.19) is one of the most famous poet and proser in modern China. He is very famous for his romantic love story. After they got married, they rented this 3-stoyed house and stayed here between 1927 and 1928.
Turn back and head east, you will arrive at the intersection of Yandang Road and Nanchang Road.
Go straight ahead to east along Yangdang Road. This is 48 Yangdang Road, Datong Kindergarden. The 3 sons of Mao Zedong – the Chairman of Chinese Communist Party who founded the Peoples Republic of China once educated in this kindergarden in 1930s.
The intersection of Nanchang Road and South Chongqing Road.
Cross the pedestrian bridge at South Chongqing Road and head east. The road on the opposite is Xingye Road (old name Rue Wantz, Built in 1914, named after the name of the chief engineer of Public Council of the French Concession, Wantz).
Further down this Xingye Road, only around 100 m away to the east, is the Xintiandi, an upmarket, pedestrian only, shopping, eating and entertainment district composed of refurbished or reconstituted traditional early 19th century Shikumen ("Stone WareHouse Gate" or "Stone Gate") Houses, narrow alleys and stone paved courtyards. With its stone gate buildings, it is a beautiful area, and you could spend some time browsing through book shops, cafes and delis selling French cheese, wines and Mo?t & Chandon, upscale boutiques and restaurants. Most of the cafes and restaurants feature both indoor and outdoor seating. Xintiandi has an active nightlife on weekdays as well as weekends, though romantic settings are more common than loud music and dance places. It is considered one of the first lifestyle centers in China. It is also the most expensive place to live in China, with some apartments costing more than Tokyo, New York and London. It is home to the Chinese elite and top executive expats.
The Shikumen Open House Museum is a museum on the south side of the North Block of Xintiandi on Xingye Road that presents Shanghai life as it was around the 1920s and 30s in a shikumen-style - "stone warehouse gate" or "stone-gate" house. There are about 7 rooms furnished with period furniture. The museum includes a tingzijian, a small triangular room, sometimes rented out at a low price to impoverished writers and others.
Shikumen, means stone warehouse gate or stone gate. The architectural focus of these houses is a front door framed in sometimes elaborately carved stone. The houses themselves – interconnected row houses usually three stories high – are made of brick typical to Shanghai in red and gray.
The style was originally created to house refugees from the Taiping Rebellion who flooded Shanghai from the nearby provinces. It gained in popularity and remained the preferred style until 1980s in Shanghai.
In the south eastern corner of this block is the Site of the First National Congress of the Communist Party of China which has now been preserved as a museum. It is located in the historical shikumen buildings in which the 1st?National?Congress?of?the?Communist?Party?of?China took place on 23 July in 1921. The museum houses exhibits about the history of China and Shanghai and the foundation of the CPC.
Entry is free.
Taiping Lake, located right in the east of Xintiandi Area.
Walking along Hubin Road (Hubin means lake side) by the norht side of Taiping Lake. Turn left to the north at the tiny garden at the intersection of Hubin Road and Shunchang Road.
Further down Shunchang Road for around 80m until Taichang Road. Turn left on Taichang Road and then right on Songshan Road. Head north on Songshan Road until you hit Middle Huaihai Road.
The building at the right side at the intersection of Middle Huaihai Road and Songshan Road, stands the Avenue Joffre Police Station (Poste de Police Joffre), 235 Middle Huaihai Road. It was build in 1912. This red classical building boasts the combination of French Renaissance and Colonial Verandah Architecture style.
Turn left here and head west along Middle Huaihai Road. Only 2 blocks away, stands another red building:
375 Middle Huaihai Road, The Municipal Council of French Concession It was built in 1909, a 4-storeyed masonry structure and in the neoclassical style. Now it is Central Plaza with shopping area from the 1st to 4th floor and office building from 5th floor up.
Unter this building is South Huangpi Road Metro Station (Subway Line 1). Here it is in the east part of former French Concession.
This is also the end of this French Concession Tour.
If you feel one day walking would be kind of tired, you can also choose our half day French Concession Tour as follows,
The West Part of French Concession: http://www.tripww.com/xlxq/913.html
The East Part of French Concession: http://www.tripww.com/xlxq/914.html
At Mobile Phone:
The West Part of French Concession: http://www.tripww.com/phone/trip/detail.aspx?id=913
The East Part of French Concession: http://www.tripww.com/phone/trip/detail.aspx?id=914