• 线路组详细信息单
      线路名称: Half Day Walking in East Former French Concession in Shanghai
      天 数: 1天 
      往返交通: Walking 
      最后更新: 2019/7/14 
      提前报名: 建议提前1天以上  
      ▲价格清单
      线路编号 原价: 成人价: 儿童价: 满意度 联系方式
      SHA-SHA04 ¥60起 ¥60起 ¥0起 95 % 021-53069239 
      ▲线路简介

      Many tourists got interested at the former French Concession in Shanghai, but maybe would think one day walking in this vast area is kind of tired. We have 2 half day tour itineraries specially designed to guide tourists to enjoy the essence of the well protected areas in the East Part or West Part in the former French Concession. Here is for the East Part of the famous French Town in Shanghai. This part is in or near the the main shopping center and CBD in Shanghai. Many well protected elegant old buildings have been developed for the commercial purpose. So they are more enchanting than other parts in the former French Concession. 


      The former French Concession, also known as French Town, is the highlight for many tourists to Shanghai. The French Concession existed in Shanghai from 6 April 1849 until 1946, reputedly the worlds largest French Concession. Now pleasant tree-lined streets, long and complicated alleyways and many fine old houses in the area (Most historic buildings have a bronze plaque that details their original use.) still retain an air of the "Paris of the East", delivering much of what this fabled city promises.

       

      It is a famous fashionable area in China and a fantastic place for spending leisure time. Now its also become the citys hottest and hippest neighborhood, where a lot of  celebrities ornate old villas have been renovated and opened for visitors, many old houses, even whole neighbourhoods have been renovated and reimagined, converted to cafes, restaurants, boutiques and galleries. Trendy bars and clubs multiply like mushrooms after a rainstorm. Get away from the busy streets, you can spend hours wandering in the sylvan streets and narrow alleyways, passing tudor houses nestled in beautiful gardens, resting in a cafe or dining in a restaurant, enjoy the boutiques or browsing through the endless art galleries and photographic studios. This Guided Walk Tour would bring you the special charming form of the French Concession, for sure it is an absolutely unique urban experience. 

       

      The main places you will visit:

      Lane 163, South Maoming Road (Built in 1921, it is one of the most famous Garden Villa Lanes in Shanghai), Former Residence of Zhou Enlai in Shanghai, Sinan Mansions, The Former Residence of Dr. Sun Yat-Sen, Fuxing Park (Old name Parc de Kuokaza or French Garden), Shanghai Science Hall (old name: College Francais, Ecole de Franc in French), Xintiandi, The Shikumen Open House Museum, the Site of the First National Congress of the Communist Party of China.

       

      The main roads you will pass:

      Middle Huaihai Road (built in 1901named in 1915 to Avenue Joffre), South Maoming Road (old name Route Cardinal Mercier), Middle Fuxing Road (Old name Route Lafayette), Sinan Road (Old name Rue Massenet), Xiangshan Road (Old name Rue Moliere), Gaolan Road (old name Rue Corneille), Yandang Road (Old name Rue de Camp), Nanchang Road (old name: Route Vallon), Xingye Road (old name Rue Wantz), Hubin Road (Lakeside Road)

       

      The Map of Concessions in Shanghai and Shanghai Old Town:

      ▲行程按排
      日期 行程 用餐 住宿
      D1

      Time: Half Day around 4 hours

      Distance: +/- 4 km

      Start: South Shaanxi Road Metro Station (Subway Line 1)

      End: South Huangpi Road Metro Station (Subway Line 1)

        

      Start your tour at the South Shaanxi Road Metro Station (Subway Line 1). Leave through Exit 3 on the crossroads of Middle Huaihai Road and South Maoming Road.

       

      Middle Huaihai Road (built in 1901named in 1915 to Avenue Joffre to honor the French general Joseph Joffre, who visited Shanghai and attended an official renaming ceremony in 1922.) - the main street running through the heart of French Concession and also one of the most famous elegant roads in China.

       

      South Maoming Road (old name Route Cardinal Mercier) was built in 1919 

       

      The building in the front of you is the Cathy Theatre, 870 Middle Huaihai Road. This Art Deco theater was built from 1930, opened on January 1, 1932, with the American drama A Free Soul starring Norma Shearer. Once owned by Victor Sassoon, the theater was given "preservation status" in the 1990s as a city landmark. It was renovated in 2003, currently houses three cinema screens.

       

      The building by the side of it with many Chimneys on the roof is the Cathy Apartment.

       

      Head south to cross Middle Huaihai Road (built in 1901named in 1915 to Avenue Joffre to honor the French general Joseph Joffre, who visited Shanghai and attended an official renaming ceremony in 1922.) - the main street running through the heart of French Concession and also one of the most famous elegant roads in China.   

       

      Walking along South Maoming Road to the south for around 100 m. The road in front of us is Nanchang Road. At the right side on the corner is the east entrance of Huaihai Fang (old name: Joffre Terrace), Add. Lane 100, South Maoming Road, which was built in 1924. There are 199 three-story houses in it.


      Many celebrities once stayed here. For instance, Xu Beihong (1895-1953) a very famous painter and educator, stayed at the House No. 99. Now it is used by the Residents Committee. 

       

      Nanchang Road (old name: Route Dollfus for the east part of road between South Chongqing Road and Yandang Road which is named after a French military officer - Dollfus and built in 1902. And Route Vallon for the west of the road between Yandang Road and South Xiangyang Road which is named after a French pilot - Vallon and built in 1912.) is totally 1690 m long and 14 -15 m wide.  


        

      At the left side on the corner is 8-story Nanchang Building (old name: Astrid Apartments). Add. 143, 151 South Maoming Road. Designed by Levin, it was built in 1933, reinforced concrete structure. It is in the Shanghai Excellent Historical Building List.  

       

       The building and the Statue of Rabindranath Tagore (1861-1941) at the southeast corner of South Maoming Road and Nanchang Road stands. Tagore is a renowned Indian poet and philosopher who won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1913, the first Asian to receive this honor. He visited Shanghai thrice and leading to a profound friendship between him and the Chinese poet Xu Zhimo. Tagore stayed twice at Xu’s residence which stood close to this spot. This bronze bust of Tagore was presented to the Luwan District People’s government of Shanghai on 30 May, 2010 by H.E. Shrimati Pratibha Devisingh Patil, President of the Republic of India on the 60th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between India and China.   

       

      Further down South Maoming Road for around 80 m, you will arrive at Lane 163, South Maoming Road. Built in 1921, it is one of the most famous Garden Villa Lanes in Shanghai. Stroll along this west – east lane, you will arrive at Ruijing 2nd Road.

      This is the exit of this lane at Ruijing 2nd Road.

       

      Ruijin 2nd Road (Old name Route Pere Robert) was built in 1907 and 1517m long, 15 - 20m wide.

       

      Turn right and head south for around 80 m, you will arrive at Middle Fuxing Road.

       

      Middle Fuxing Road (Old name Route Lafayette) is the 2nd most important road in the former French Concession, only next to Middle Huaihai Road (old name Avenue Joffre). It was built between 1914 and 1931, and 3494m long.   

       

      Turn left here and walk on Middle Fuxing Road for a few tens of meters, in the south side on the road, you will find Fuxing Fang (old name Lafayette Terrace), Add. 553 Middle Fuxing Road. Built in 1927, with 93 three or four - story houses here.  

       

      Head east from here for around 60 meters, you will arrive at Sinan Road (Old name Rue Massenet)  

       

      Sinan Road (Old name Rue Massenet) was built in 1912 and completed in 1914, in the memory of the famous French musician - Massenet (12 May 1842 - 13 Aug 1912) who was a French composer of the Romantic era best known for his operas, of which he wrote more than thirty. The two most frequently staged are Manon (1884) and Werther (1892). He also composed oratorios, ballets, orchestral works, incidental music, piano pieces, songs and other music. Now in 16th arrondissement of Paris (also known as "Arrondissement de Passy"), there is still a same name road.

       

      Please click Sinan Mansions for more info about it.  

       

      Turn right to walk to the south on this quiet picturesque street with pretty buildings and villas on each sides, many elegant detached French style garden villas will appear in front of your eyes. Built in 1920s, this community was designed by French architect and copied from the buildings in Biarritz, a famous beach resort by the side of Atlantic in the south France near Spain. The following is the info of this Biarritz like community. 

       

      Sinan Mansions is the only one project in the central Shanghai in order to protect acres of villas. With 51 villas built in 1920s in the heart of the former French Concession, almost all kinds of architectures in morden Shanghai can be found in this area, including detached garden villas, veranda style architectures, townhouses with courtyard, townhouse without courtyard. It was a hub of high society where dignitaries, entrepreneurs, professionals and renowned artists frequented and lived. Shanghai Municipal Investment, the developer, spearheaded a $3.5 billion restoration project to revitalize Shanghai’s former glory. The total area covers around 50,000 s.m. The total construction area is around 80,000 s.m. Many luxurious villas have been renovated and reimagined, converted to upscale hotel - Hotel Massenet. Someother villas were converted to cafes, restaurants, boutiques and galleries.   

       

       

      The Museum House next to this Venue

       73 Sinan Road (formerly 107 Rue Massenet), Former Residence of Zhou Enlai in Shanghai. It was the residence of Zhou?Enlai (1898–1976), the first Premier?of?the?Peoples?Republic?of?China from 1949 until his death om 1976. Zhou Enlai stayed in the house during 1946. It was the Shanghai Office of the Delegates of the Communist?Party?of?China in 1946–7. In 1945 the Communist Party and the Nationalist Party formulated "the guidelines for peaceful country build-up". The representative office was set up by the CPC delegation headed by Comrade Zhou En Lai in June 1946 as to carry out the following negotiations and united front work. Under the name of "General Zhou En Lais Residence" (abbreviated to "Sir Zhous Mansion"), the office was where Comrade Zhou En Lai held a number of press conferences and met with Chinese and foreign friends.

       

      Covering an area of 850 square meters with a courtyard in the front of it and bamboo fence around it, this elegant three-storeyed house was built in the 1920s in French style. The house was listed as a municipal relic in 1959 and became a memorial in 1979. The house is open daily, 9am–5pm, free of charge.

       

      Turn back to the north to get back to Middle Fuxing Road again, walking to the east for around 60 meters, on the opposite of Middle Fuxing Road, is Fuxing Park (Old name Parc de Kuokaza or French Garden). Walking in the area just beyond the boundaries of Fuxing Park feels almost like walking through a backstreet of London. While Xiangshan Road leads to the always-chaotic Huaihai Road, the area is a picture of serenity. 

       

      Head north to cross Middle Fuxing Road. This is the northwardly view of the intersection of Middle Fuxing Road and Sinan Road.  

       

      On the northeast corner of the intersection of Middle Fuxing Road and Sinan Road, you will find this yellow Spanish style villa .

      41 Sinan Road, Shanghai Research Institute of Culture and History (Old name: Wallace Residence). Spanish style garden villa. Brick-and-concrete composite structure. Built in 1920s. It is the Outstanding Historical Building promulgated by Shanghai Municipal Government. The original owner of this vila is Mr. Jin Tingsun, one of the big shots of the black society at that time. Then it was sold to Mr.Yuan Zuoliang, the manager of Kincheng Bank, one of the biggest banks in old China.

       

      The Villas on Sinan Road:


      48 Sinan Road, reputedly it was owned by Yuan Shikai, the 2nd president of the Republic of China


      46 Sinan Road, once used by French Concession Police Station.

       

      Head north and just next to the Shanghai Research Institute of Culture and History, at the corner of Sinan Road and Xiangshan Road, stands the iron fence entrance to The Former Residence of Sun Yat-sen, the founder and 1st president of The Republic of China.


      Dr. Sun Yat-Sen (1866–1925) & his wife Soong Ching-ling (1893 -1981)

      7 Xiangshan Road (Old name Rue Moliere, Built in 1914, 328m long and 12m wide. named after French playwright Moliere.), The Former Residence of Dr. Sun Yat-Sen (1866–1925), the founder and 1st president of The Republic of China. Sun Yat-sen lived in this house from 1918 with his wife Soong?Ching-ling. After his death, Suns wife continued to live here until 1937. There is now an exhibition centre presenting Sun Yat-sens life, together with some artifacts and a statue of Sun Yat-sen outside. You can see things such as an officer’s sword, military maps and pens. In the living room and halls, you can see pictures and hundreds of books. He married his wife in Tokyo, and you can see a picture of them.

       

      The two-story European-style villa covers a floor area of 2500 s.m. It was bought by some overseas Chinese as a gift for Dr Sun to support his revolution and he wrote several books there. Opening to the public in 1988, it is listed as an important historical site and placed under the states protection.

       

      There is a new museum in a three-story garden villa next to the house. It measures 700 square meters, and it has hundreds of artifacts and mementos that you can see


      6 Xiangshan Road, Residence of Augustinian. Built in 1920s. French and Spanish Renasissance garden residence. Masonry structure. The floor area of it is 1576 s.m. and the construction area is 1005 s.m.

       

      This building looks very charming and graceful. But now the garden is not kept very well and looks like a jungle. It was built in the money got by fraud. In 1920s, many American countris include the States always received many letters and magzines named "Missions Reculetos" from Shanghai. In the letter, the receivers were told that the priests in Shanghai Augustinian were doing very hard to save the soul of local poor Chinese people. So they hope the wealthy people in American countries to donate money to them. But in fact, so called the priests in Shanghai Augustinian did nothing in Shanghai but to cheat money from overseas. In western countries, the friars in Augustinian are Mendicant friar. They can not own their private property. But in Shanghai, these priests indulged in this kind of luxurious life. In the record, the priests who stayed in this villa are Rev.P.Gerezal, Rev.F.Alvarad, Rev.G.Castrillo and Rev.E.Blanco


      44 Sinan Road, the Former Residence of Mr. Lu Han (1895~1974).  Lu Han, an army Admiral, was once the Chairman of Yunnan Province government. He stayed here in 1940s


      A Cafe by the side of the entrance of 44 Sinan Road,Antique Garden. The antique furnitures in this cafe can be sold to customers


      42 Sinan Road  


      40 Sinan Road


      36 Sinan Road, the Former Residence of Yang Sen (20 Feb 1884 - 15 May 1977). Yang Sen, an army Admiral, was once the Chairman of Guizhou Province government. After his stay, this villa was sold to Huang Jinrong, one of the 3 Biggest Shots of the black society in Shanghai at that time. His 2 side wifes stayed in this villa.

       

      Head west down to Gaolan Road (old name Rue Corneille, built in 1914, named after French poet Corneille, 278m long and 12m wide.) for a little while, you can find a very graceful Orthodox Church



      16 Gaolan Road, St Nicholas Church. It was a Russian?Orthodox?Church. The building was built in 1932 (completed in 1934) on the initiative of White?Russians in Shanghai, refugees of the revolution?of?1917, especially General Glebov. It was consecrated in 1937 in honour of St Nicholas, patron saint of the former Russian Emperor, Nicholas?II. The church was closed in 1949 when Europeans left following the Chinese?Civil?War. It was first converted into a warehouse and then a laundry. During the Expo?2010, its loft was reconsecrated to allow Russian Orthodox services to be held there.


      Turn back to east, walk for only around 100m, you will get to the east end of Gaolan Road, the West Gate of Fuxing Park lies there


      Occupying 76,866 s.m., Fuxing Park (Old name Parc de Kuokaza or French Garden) is the most famous French style park, reputedly the only one well protected old French style park in China. The 1st stage project of park building was completed in June 1909, and the expansion Project completed in 1926, once the largest park in Shanghai. The 1st stage project was designed by French horticulturist Papot.The expansion project was mainly designed by French horticulturist Jousseaume. A young Chinese garden designer Mr.Yu Xiling (郁锡麒 in Chinese) also joined the expansion project. Because of his insistence, a very charming Chinese style garden corner with a lotus lake and a rockery appeared in the southwest of the park. The park, about 10 ha. in size, has more than 170 kinds oi plants, and a large lawn, a lake, fountains, covered pavilions, flowerbeds, a Children’s Playground with a merry-go-around and so on. 


      The French Style Sunken Flower Bed in the middle of this park is the most famous feature in the park. During the 2nd world war period, in order to save the animals in the Shanghai Zoo, there is a little zoo established in the park to feed the animals from Shanghai Zoo.  

      Now in early morning, the park fills with dancers, card players, mahjong enthusiasts, and tai?chi solo and group artists. According to Time magazines Hannah?Beech, it is one of the must-see sights in Shanghai.


       

      To the North Entrance of Fuxing Park at Yandang Road.


       

      Leave the Park from its north entrance on Yandang Road (Old name Rue de Camp, then changed to Route Voyron), turn left into Shanghai Science Hall (old name College Francais, Ecole de Franc in French). It was built in 1917 as the French Club. In 1926, the French Club was moved to South Maoming Road. Here was changed to College Francais for the education of French expats kids. It is a Brick-and-concrete composite structure. French style with Art Nouveau decoration.

       

      Yandang Road (Old name Rue de Camp because the Fuxing Park at the south end of this road was once the French barracks, then changed to Route Voyron) was completed in 1902. It is 290m long and 17.9-21m wide.


       

      Leave the main entrance of Shanghai Science Hall on 47 Nanchang Road. On the oppoesite of Nanchang Road is Shanghai Villa.


      Nanchang Road (old name: Route Dollfus for the east part of road between South Chongqing Road and Yandang Road which is named after a French military officer - Dollfus and built in 1902. And Route Vallon for the west of the road between Yandang Road and South Xiangyang Road which is named after a French pilot - Vallon and built in 1912.) is totally 1690 m long and 14 -15 m wide

        

      Lane 110 Nanchang Road, Shanghai Villa. Built 1916.Masonry structure, New-style.

        

      A cozy bar near Lane 110.  


      The next lane in the west is Lane 136. Park Terrace. Built between 1912 and 1936. Masonry structure. New-style.


       

      No. 11, inside the Lane 136 is the Former Residence of Mr.Xu Zhimo and Ms. Lu Xiaoman. Xu Zhimo (1897.1.15-1931.11.19) is one of the most famous poet and proser in modern China. He is very famous for his romantic love story. After they got married, they rented this 3-stoyed house and stayed here between 1927 and 1928.


        

      Turn back and head east, you will arrive at the intersection of Yandang Road and Nanchang Road.


       

      Go straight ahead to east along Yangdang Road. This is 48 Yangdang Road, Datong Kindergarden. The 3 sons of Mao Zedong – the Chairman of Chinese Communist Party who founded the Peoples Republic of China once educated in this kindergarden in 1930s.


       

       The intersection of Nanchang Road and South Chongqing Road.

       

      Cross the pedestrian bridge at South Chongqing Road and head east. The road on the opposite is Xingye Road (old name Rue Wantz, Built in 1914, named after the name of the chief engineer of Public Council of the French Concession, Wantz).

        


      Further down this Xingye Road, only around 100 m away to the east, is the Xintiandi, an upmarket, pedestrian only, shopping, eating and entertainment district composed of refurbished or reconstituted traditional early 19th century Shikumen ("Stone WareHouse Gate" or "Stone Gate") Houses, narrow alleys and stone paved courtyards. With its stone gate buildings, it is a beautiful area, and you could spend some time browsing through book shops, cafes and delis selling French cheese, wines and Mo?t & Chandon, upscale boutiques and restaurants. Most of the cafes and restaurants feature both indoor and outdoor seating. Xintiandi has an active nightlife on weekdays as well as weekends, though romantic settings are more common than loud music and dance places. It is considered one of the first lifestyle centers in China. It is also the most expensive place to live in China, with some apartments costing more than Tokyo, New York and London. It is home to the Chinese elite and top executive expats.


      The Shikumen Open House Museum is a museum on the south side of the North Block of Xintiandi on Xingye Road that presents Shanghai life as it was around the 1920s and 30s in a shikumen-style - "stone warehouse gate" or "stone-gate" house. There are about 7 rooms furnished with period furniture. The museum includes a tingzijian, a small triangular room, sometimes rented out at a low price to impoverished writers and others.

       

      Shikumen, means stone warehouse gate or stone gate. The architectural focus of these houses is a front door framed in sometimes elaborately carved stone. The houses themselves interconnected row houses usually three stories high are made of brick typical to Shanghai in red and gray.

       

      The style was originally created to house refugees from the Taiping Rebellion who flooded Shanghai from the nearby provinces. It gained in popularity and remained the preferred style until 1980s in Shanghai.


      In the south eastern corner of this block is the Site of the First National Congress of the Communist Party of China which has now been preserved as a museum. It is located in the historical shikumen buildings in which the 1st?National?Congress?of?the?Communist?Party?of?China took place on 23 July in 1921. The museum houses exhibits about the history of China and Shanghai and the foundation of the CPC. 

       

      Entry is free. 


      Taiping Lake, located right in the east of Xintiandi Area.

       

      Walking along Hubin Road (Hubin means lake side) by the norht side of Taiping Lake. Turn left to the north at the tiny garden at the intersection of Hubin Road and Shunchang Road.

       

      Further down Shunchang Road for around 80m until Taichang Road. Turn left on Taichang Road and then right on Songshan Road. Head north on Songshan Road until you hit Middle Huaihai Road.

       

      The building at the right side at the intersection of Middle Huaihai Road and Songshan Road, stands the Avenue Joffre Police Station (Poste de Police Joffre), 235 Middle Huaihai Road. It was build in 1912. This red classical building boasts the combination of French Renaissance and Colonial Verandah Architecture style.

       

      Turn left here and head west along Middle Huaihai Road. Only 2 blocks away, stands another red building:


      375 Middle Huaihai Road, The Municipal Council of French Concession It was built in 1909, a 4-storeyed masonry structure and in the neoclassical style. Now it is Central Plaza with shopping area from the 1st to 4th floor and office building from 5th floor up.

       

      Unter this building is South Huangpi Road Metro Station (Subway Line 1). Here it is in the east part of former French Concession.

       

      This is also the end of this French Concession Tour

       

      Notice:
      If you want to explore more area of the former French Concession, you can choose our following tour itineraries,
      At Computer:
        The Full Day French Concession: http://www.tripww.com/xlxq/912.html
        The West Part of French Concession: http://www.tripww.com/xlxq/913.html
      At Mobile Phone:
        The Full Day of French Concession: http://www.tripww.com/phone/trip/detail.aspx?id=912
        The West Part of French Concession: http://www.tripww.com/phone/trip/detail.aspx?id=913

       

      Thanks!

      Not Included in the Quotation  No 
      ▲费用包含
      Price:  per person in CNY (Chinese Yuan)

      1 P

      2 P

      3 P

      4 P

      5 P

      600

      300

      200

      150

      120

      6 P

      7 P

      8 P

      9 P

      10 P

      100

      86

      75

      68

      60

      ▲费用不包含

      The price only includes the English speaking guide fee. Other fees such as lunch and the entrance ticket fee to The Former Residence of Dr. Sun Yat-Sen (RMB20 per person) and to The Shikumen Open House Museum (RMB20 per person) will be paid additionallly by tourist when arrive there. 


      Some places in the tour still do not allow tourists to get into. So tourists can only enjoy the outview of them. 


      Some places open late and close early, and maybe closed on Monday. So if it is not during the opening  time, tourist can also only enjoy the outview of them. 

       

      * Tips is highly appreciated but not requested.
       

      Please Note:  

      1. This tour package can be fully customizable to fit your travel plan. 

      2. The tour itinerary described above may change or cancel because of force majeure. If because of force majeure or any conditions and/or situation which are not under the control of Shanghai Elite Tours happens (such as the problem of airlines, train, ship, public bus and any other public traffic means, the sudden change of weather, temporary road problem…) and/or accidental situation such as tourists will endanger the personal safety and property safety problem, and/or any other accidental situation which are unforeseen, unavoidable and insurmountable by Shanghai Elite Tours, this tour can not be accomplished as scheduled, Shanghai Elite Tours will not bear the responsibility.

      3. The sequence of the activities in the itinerary maybe will be changed according to the situation.

      4. Tourists should pay attention to the safety during the tour and the during the time when tourists arrange the activities themselves (such as during the meal time, shopping time, rest time, go to toilet and so on…).

      5. Shanghai Elite Tours is NOT a medical institution, and can only provide the tour and/or trip and/or conference service (if any). Every tourist should also know the health situation of them own, and tourists should guarantee their health condition can meet the needs of this tour. 

      6. Guide and/or driver represent Shanghai Elite Tours only when the guide and/or driver serve tourists according to the Itinerary. If tourist asks guide and/or driver to add more service item and this kind of item does not been approved by Travel Service Company in written form, Travel Service Company will not take any responsibility to the added item.

       

      ▲温馨提示